World History Sources

World History Sources

TIP: Press Ctrl/f and enter a part of a word or phrase in the Find what: box and click on Find Next to search for a topic on this page. For example, type histor to search for history, histories, historical.

Countries and Their Cultures 
Online
"The focus of Countries and Their Cultures is on the cultures of the countries around the world, what is and what is not commonly shared culturally by people who live in the country. These commonly shared cultural traits include history, food, social stratification, political life, marriage, family, kinship, gender roles and status, religion, and the arts.

Encyclopedia of the World's Nations
Print
This encyclopedia incorporates three major encyclopedias into one set - The Encyclopedia of the Third World, The Encyclopedia of the First World, and The Encyclopedia of the Second World. This consolidation surveys 190 nations and provides "a broad range of information based on a standard classification system, accompanied by an equally broad range of statistical data". The aim of the new encyclopedia is "to reflect the emerging world in the new millennium".

Encyclopedia of World History
Online
This encyclopedia covers world history from the beginning of man through to the twentieth century. Included are numerous maps and genealogical tables. "The backbone of this book is chronology which, in the case of general economic trends, religious and artistic movements, and intellectual currents, is both hard to define and of relatively less significance. For methodological reasons, if for no other, we could give but flight emphasis to these aspects of history."

Hutchinson Dictionary of World History
Online
This source "..has been compiled with the intention of providing as great a coverage as possible of global events from earliest times to the present day within a single volume." "The emphasis of the dictionary is on what is generally recognized as the historical era: that is, the period more properly the province of the historian working from surviving records, than that of the archaeologist working from surviving artifacts. The coverage is based on the three main divisions of history --period, nation, and topic. Major civilizations, events, and leaders, as well as, the world's nations, have all been included."

Illustrated Book of World Rankings
Print
Intended "...as an international scorecard that compares and ranks over 190 nations of the world according to their performance in almost 300 key areas." "Each ranking or group of related rankings is preceded by an introduction highlighting the salient features and peculiarities of the topic covered."

Loeb Classical Library (Owens Library Collection, 115 titles)
Print
Loeb Classical Library (MOBIUS Collection, 517 Titles)
Print
"The Loeb Classical Library® is the only series of books which, through original text and English translation, gives access to all that is important in Greek and Latin literature."

New York Public Library Book of Chronologies
Print
This volume uses a "...chronological scheme to present in clearest possible terms a vast array of reference information on history and culture. Unlike other chronologies of important dates and events, however, this book features chronologies on topics as diverse as literature, Antarctic exploration, the development of airplanes, football, and famous movies."

Oxford Atlas of World History
Print
In order by date, this atlas looks at a variety of influences on the world. Included are health, population, politics, expansion, geography, ethnicity, religion, and economics which make this a great addition for those studying world history.

Oxford Classical dictionary (3rd Ed)
Print

"For almost half a century, the Oxford Classical Dictionary has been the unrivaled one-volume reference work on the Greco-Roman world. Whether one is interested in literature or art, philosophy or law, mythology or science, intimate details of daily life or broad cultural and historical trends, the OCD is the first place to turn for clear, authoritative information on ancient culture."

Oxford companion to classical civilization
Print
Shortened version of third (1996) edition of the Oxford Classical Dictionary.

Statistical Abstract of the World (1907)
Online

Statistical Abstract of the World (1997)
Print
This book profiles 185 UN member nations with the purpose to serve as "...guide to a world of information, covering such topics as the geography, demographics, healthcare, organization of government, science and technology and trade of the country."

World at Arms: the Reader's Digest Illustrated History of World War II
Print
Following the war from 1930's Germany to its aftermath is the goal of this volume. It includes maps, photographs, and text. The "Reference Section" is a comprehensive chronology of the war including the human cost of the war.

World Conflicts And Confrontations
Print
This four volume set covers conflicts within and between the nations of the world.

World History since 1914
Print
This handbook brings together "...chronological, statistical and tabular information which is not to be found elsewhere within the confines of a single volume. The handbook covers not only political and diplomatic events but also the broader fields of social and economic history. It includes biographies of important individuals, a glossary of commonly used historical terms, and a topic bibliography."

Worldmark Encyclopedia of the Nations
Print
The aim of this encyclopedia is to provide "a new approach to analytical and basic data on each country, as a separate political unit, and as a member of a vast family of nations". Individual articles on countries primarily include sections on government, history, economy, and education.

Last Update: 10 Jul 20:38 | Tagged with: World history Books sources