History WWW Resources

WWW Resources - Women's History

TIP: Press Ctrl/f and enter a part of a word or phrase in the Find what: box and click on Find Next to search for a topic on this page. For example, type histor to search for history, histories, historical.

American Memory
The Library of Congress National Digital Library has created this resource offering links to primary source and archival materials relating to American culture and history. Click on the Search hyperlink and type women in the search form field.

American Memory: Votes for Women
This site offers selections from the National American Woman Suffrage Association Collection. This resource draws information about the Women's Suffrage Movement between 1848 and 1921. It is sponsored by the Library of Congress.

American Women
"The site contains a slightly expanded and fully searchable version of the print publication American Women: A Library of Congress Guide for the Study of Women's History and Culture in the United States . . . The guide has been redesigned for online use, with added illustrations and links to existing digitized material located throughout the Library of Congress Web site. These materials are supplemented by a small number of newly digitized items that provide a sample of the many relevant types of materials available in Library of Congress holdings . . . . The Research Guide also provides practical search tips, detailed collection summaries of the Library's voluminous multiformat holdings, and links to fuller catalog record descriptions and digitized material."

Caleb Johnson's MayflowerHistory.com
Click on the About the Author hyperlink (under Introduction) to read about the author of this site that provides a wealth of information about Mayflower history and genealogy. The Girls on the Mayflower and Women on the Mayflower hyperlinks (under History) are useful links related to women's history.

Emory Women Writers Resource Project
"The Emory Women Writers Resource Project is a collection of edited and unedited texts by women writing in English from the seventeenth century through the nineteenth century."

First Lady's Gallery
Links to information about first ladies is provided at this White House Web site.

History Channel's Search any Topic in History
Visit the History Channel's list of recommended Web sites on various historical topics. Type women in the search box to find a myriad of sites about women in history.

Latin American Network Information Center--Womens & Gender Studies
This Web resource, affiliated with The Institute of Latin American Studies: University of Texas at Austin, offers a comprehensive set of links for research dealing with women and women's roles in Latin America and the United States. An International Resources area links to sources that effect women worldwide.

Literature of the Holocaust
Visit this page created by Al Filreis of the University of Pennsylvania for links describing holocaust literature. Type women in the Search box to search for information specifically about women.

National Women's History Project
"The National Women's History Project is an educational nonprofit organization. . . . [whose] mission is to recognize and celebrate the diverse and historic accomplishments of women by providing information and educational materials and programs."

Organization of American Historians: Magazine of History (1985-1995)
This ten year index includes informative articles and lesson plans on particular themes in American and world history. Use the Find button on your browser's toolbar to search for the word women.

President
This site offers links to presidential and first ladies' information. A special feature includes links to presidential Web sites.

Sallie Bingham Center for Women's History and Culture
"The Sallie Bingham Center for Women's History and Culture is an integral part of Duke's Special Collections Library which houses a broad range of rare and unique primary source material."

Subject Listing of Women and Gender Resources
Check out the history links about women from the the Office of the University of Wisconsin System Women's Studies Librarian.

Women in America
Read excerpts from foreign visitors describing the role of women in America during the years 1820 to 1842. These full-text documents are available through the American Studies Department at the University of Virginia. The boxes located at the bottom of the page allow users to locate resources searching by author or topic.

Women's Resources on the Internet
Links to women's history resources are included at this site from the University of North Carolina's Women's Resource Project.

Women's Studies
This site includes links (under history and area studies) to bibliographies of print sources and Internet resources about women's history. Information about the authors is located at the bottom of the page.

The World Wide Web Virtual Library: Women's History
"The main purposes of this virtual library are to list women's history institutions and organizations, locate archival and library collections, and provide links to Internet resources on women's history. In addition, also included are a list of women's studies journals and a few comprehensive link collections useful as a starting point for searching the Internet for women's studies in general." It includes links to reference sources; conferences and calls for papers; Institutions, Web resources related to specific periods of history (general, ancient, medieval, early modern, modern), geographic locations (Africa, the Americas, Asia, Canada, Europe), and topics (aviation and space, media, Jews, lesbians, sexuality, witchcraft, art, labour, business, medicine and nursing, music, men (masculinity), military, science and engineering, writing, women's rights and suffrage, writers, and resources from other disciplines)."This section of the WWW Virtual Library is maintained by the International Institute of Social History."

WSSLINKS Women's History Sites
This site, authored by the Women's Studies Section Collection Development Committee of the Association of College and Research Libraries, includes information about women in ancient and medieval times; American, Canadian, and International women's history; Women's History Month sites; women's history conferences; and women's history speakers and performers.

WWWomen: The Premier Search Directory for Women Online
Investigate the Women Throughout History hyperlink at this commercial Web site. All about WWW Women gives information about the sponsors and purpose of this site.

Last Update: 10 Jul 20:37 | Tagged with: history reviewed Web sites