History WWW Resources

Primary Sources American History - WWW Resources

TIP: Press Ctrl/f and enter a part of a word or phrase in the Find what: box and click on Find Next to search for a topic on this page. For example, type histor to search for history, histories, historical.

African American Odyssey: A Quest for Full Citizenship
This is a chronicle of the African American experience. This exhibition is part of the Library of Congress Web site.

Alabama Mosaic
"AlabamaMosaic is a repository of digital materials on Alabama's history, culture, places, and people. Its purpose is to make unique historical treasures from Alabama's archives, libraries, museums, and other repositories electronically accessible to Alabama residents and to students, researchers, and the general public in other states and countries."

Alaska Digital Archive
"Alaska's Digital Archives presents a wealth of historical photographs, albums, oral histories, moving images, maps, documents, physical objects, and other materials from libraries, museums and archives throughout" the state of Alaska.

The American Civil War Homepage
Dr. George H. Hoemann, Assistant Dean, Distance Education and Independent Study at the University of Tennessee, has compiled links to resources about the American Civil War (1861-1865).

American Memory
The Library of Congress National Digital Library has created this resource offering links to primary and archival materials relating to American culture and history.

American Studies at the University of Virginia
The American Studies department at the University of Virginia has created this comprehensive Web site that includes links related to ethnicity, gender, literature, philosophy, religion, popular culture, regional studies, social sciences and science and technology. Highlights of the site include an online museum, hypertext resources, cultural maps, an online tour of Washington DC, links to electronic courses in American Studies and a variety of student full-text projects.

Annexation of Hawaii: A Collection of Documents
This site includes digitized primary documents relating to the annexation of Hawaii.

Archives of the West
This PBS site includes "a selection of the memoirs, journals, letters, reports and images that went into the making of THE WEST."

The Atlantic World: America and the Netherlands
This "is a bilingual, multi-format English-Dutch digital library that tells the story of the Dutch presence in America and the interactions between the United States and the Netherlands from Henry Hudson's 1609 voyage to the post-World War II period.The collection is intended for use by students, scholars, and researchers worldwide. The goal of the project, which is part of the Library's Global Gateway initiative, is to digitize and present important collections of books, maps, manuscripts, photographs, and other materials that relate to the interactions between the United States and the Netherlands over the last four centuries. The initial focus of materials is the colonization and settlement of New Netherland up to 1664."

The Avalon Project
"The Avalon Project will mount digital documents relevant to the fields of Law, History, Economics, Politics, Diplomacy and Government."

Caleb Johnson's Mayflower Web Pages
These pages provide a wealth of information about Mayflower history and genealogy. It is authored by a scholar specializing in the history of the Mayflower.

Calisphere
"Calisphere is the University of California's free public gateway to a world of primary sources. More than 150,000 digitized items — including photographs, documents, newspaper pages, political cartoons, works of art, diaries, transcribed oral histories, advertising, and other unique cultural artifacts — reveal the diverse history and culture of California and its role in national and world history."

Center for American History: Exhibits
Several online exhibits and digital photographic archives relating to Texas history are available at this site affiliated with the University of Texas at Austin Library.

A Chronology of US Historical Documents
This site is maintained by the University of Oklahoma College of Law. It includes digitized copies of historical documents from United States history sorted by time period.

Civil War Letters
This site allows examination of letters written by a private in the Union army.

The Crisis of the Union: An Electonic Archive of Documents about the Causes, Conduct, and Consequences of the US Civil War
"This collection is comprised of pamphlets, books, broadsides, cartoons, clippings, paintings, maps, and other print memorabilia about America from circa 1830 to 1880."

Digital Book Index: Subjects
A number of primary sources are available via this index. Examples include sermons, addresses, lectures, debates, as well as many other types of primary sources.

Documenting the American South
"Documenting the American South (DocSouth), a digital publishing initiative sponsored by the University Library at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, provides access to digitized primary materials that offer Southern perspectives on American history and culture."

The Dramas of Haymarket
"The Dramas of Haymarket examines selected materials from the Chicago Historical Society's Haymarket Affair Digital Collection, an electronic archive of . . . [Chicago Historical Society's] extraordinary Haymarket holdings. The Dramas of Haymarket interprets these materials and places them in historical context, drawing on many other items from the Historical Society's extensive resources."

A to Z List: Duke Digital Collections
The digital collections from Duke University include "Ad*Access: Images of over 7,000 U.S. and Canadian advertisements covering five product categories - Beauty and Hygiene, Radio, Television, Transportation, and World War II propaganda - dated between 1911 and 1955"; "African American Women: Images and transcripts form three digital collections: Hannah Valentine and Lethe Jackson Slave Letters, 1837-1838; Vilet Lester Slave Letter, 1857; and Elizabeth Johnson Harris: Life Story, 1867-1923"; "Behind the Veil: African Americans Tell About Life in the Jim Crow South: Images and audio clips excerpted from the book, Remembering Jim Crow (New York: New Press/Lyndhurst Books of the Center for Documentary Studies of Duke University : Distributed by W.W. Norton & Co., c2001)"; "Civil War Women: Images and transcripts form three digital collections: Rose O'Neal Greenhow Papers, 1860-1864; Alice Williamson Diary, 1864; and Sarah E. Thompson Papers, 1859-1898"; "Digital Durham: Primary sources documenting the economic, social, cultural, and political history of Durham, N.C., from the 1870s through the 1920s"; "Documents from the Women's Liberation Movement: Images and transcripts related to the radical origins of the Women's Liberation Movement in the United States during the late 1960s and early 1970s"; "Duke Papyrus: Images and explanatory descriptions of Duke's collection of nearly 1400 papyri from ancient Egypt"; "Emergence of Advertising in America: Images of 9,000 advertising items and publications dating from 1850 to 1920, illustrating the rise of consumer culture and the birth of a professionalized advertising industry in the United States"; "Emma Spaulding Bryant Letters: Emma Spaulding Bryant wrote these ten letters to her husband, John Emory Bryant, in the summer of 1873. The letters reveal much about the relationships between husbands and wives in this era, and shed light on women's health issues that were often kept private"; "George Percival Scriven: An American in Bohol, The Philippines, 1899-1901: Transcript of a U.S. officer's diary about the American invasion and occupation of the Philippine Islands"; "Historical Images in Medicine: The Medical Center Library's Historical Images in Medicine (HIM) collections encompass over 3,000 photographs, illustrations, engravings, and bookplates from the history of the health and life sciences"; "Historic American Sheet Music: Provides access to images of 3042 pieces from the collection, published in the United States between 1850 and 1920"; "Hugh Mangum Photographs, [ca. 1890]-1922: Hundreds of portraits taken in small towns of North Carolina, Virginia, and West Virginia, comprising a diverse pictorial history of the region at the turn of the 20th century"; "Medicine and Madison Avenue: Image of over 600 advertisements and historical documents dated between 1911 and 1958, relating to the creation and influence of health-related advertising"; "Ration Coupons on the Home Front, 1942-1945: Images of ration coupons, stickers, and certificates for tires, bicycles, typewriters, sugar, shoes, fuel oil, gasoline, and food which were issued by the U.S. Office of Price Administration from 1942-1945"; "Slavery, Abolition, and Social Justice (Duke campus only): Digital collection documents key aspects of the history of slavery worldwide over six centuries. Content from the John Hope Franklin Collection of African and African American Documentation at Duke University, as well as several other North American and European libraries"; "The Urban Landscape Digital Image Access Project: 1000 images from fourteen collections pertaining to the theme 'The Urban Landscape'"; "Walt Whitman Manuscripts: Manuscript drafts and revisions of Whitman's poetry and prose as well as proofs and published versions of his work from his early career in journalism up through the end of his life. Part of the Trent Collection of Whitmaniana in the Rare Book, Manuscript, and Special Collections Library at Duke University"; and "William Gedney Photographs and Writings: The 50,000 item collection documents Gedney's work from the 1950s to 1989, in the United States, India, England, Ireland, and France."

Emory Women Writers Resource Project
"The Emory Women Writers Resource Project is a collection of edited and unedited texts by women writing in English from the seventeenth century through the nineteenth century."

The Exhibit Hall
The Exhibit Hall, at the National Archives and Records Administration, includes links to digital copies of the Declaration of Independence, Bill of Rights, Magna Carta, Emancipation Proclamation, Apollo 11 Flight Plan, North Atlantic Treaty Organization, and more. Use the "Search" function on this page to determine if primary sources about your area of interest are available. [Note: The search function will also retrieve information that is not a primary document. Consequently, users will need evaluate each source retrieved.]

EyeWitness to History: history through the eyes of those who lived it
This site provides text descriptions of historical events and time periods (from the ancient world to present) from the people who experienced them. This site also posts historical snapshots and a photo of the week.

The Gilder Lehrman Center for the Study of Slavery, Resistance, and Abolition: Related Links of Interest
"The Gilder Lehrman Center for the Study of Slavery, Resistance, and Abolition, a part of the MacMillan Center for International and Area Studies, is dedicated to the investigation and dissemination of knowledge concerning all aspects of slavery, especially the chattel slave system and its destruction."

The Great Chicago Fire and the Web of Memory
The Chicago Historical Society and Northwestern University have created a site that includes eyewitness accounts and digitized photographs of this event. There are also a number of digitized copies of photographs and documents related to United States history available via the Chicago Historical Society site.

Guide to Law Online
"The Guide to Law Online, prepared by the U.S. Law Library of Congress Public Services Division, is an annotated guide to sources of information on government and law available online. It includes selected links to useful and reliable sites for legal information."

Harvard University Library: A Selection of Web-Accessible Collections
This web site provides access to list of visual resource collection that belongs to the Harvard University.

Hanover Historical Texts Project
"In 1995, the History Department and Hanover students initiated the Hanover Historical Texts Project. The Project's principal aim is to make primary texts readily available to students and faculty for use in history and humanities courses." The text of documents are from a wide range of time periods and geographic locations.

Historic Documents
The University of Michigan Documents Center maintains an excellent page of links to both primary and secondary sources from Europe, the Middle East & North Africa, and North America.

Historical Photograph Collections at the Arizona State Archives
This site "focus upon the unique cultural heritage of the state and territory of Arizona, beginning in 1863. The collection includes about 130,000 images, including photographs, slides, negatives, glass plate negatives, tintypes, transparencies, postcards and others."

Historical & Cultural Atlas
Interactive maps help students study cultural and historical changes.

Inaugural Addresses of the Presidents of the United States
The full-text of presidential inaugural addresses are available at this site which is a part of the Bartleby.comhistorical texts.

Institute of Museum and Library Services(IMLS)
"The Digital Collections and Content (DCC) project is investigating and implementing a systematic approach to developing useful, meaningful, and usable digital collections. This collaboration with IMLS and IMLS-funded projects supports IMLS' mission to create a nation of learners and sustain cultural heritage."

Library of Congress Exhibitions
This site offers online versions of exhibitions at the Library of Congress, past and present.

Library of Congress Photostream On Flickr
Flickr are the photo-sharing social-networking website. They "help people to make their content available to the people and enable new ways of organizing photos and videos." Which makes easy for visitors to access the images.

Library of Congress Prints and Photgraphs Online Catalog
"The Prints & Photographs Online Catalog (PPOC) provides access through group or item records to more than 50% of the Division's holdings, as well as to some images found in other units of the Library of Congress. Many of the catalog records are accompanied by digital images--about one million digital images in all."

Los Angeles public libarary
This web site provides more than 60,000 images that describes the cultural history of Los Angeles.

Making of America
"Making of America (MoA) is a digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction. The collection is particularly strong in the subject areas of education, psychology, American history, sociology, religion, and science and technology. The collection currently contains approximately 8,500 books and 50,000 journal articles with 19th century imprints."

Massachusetts Historical Society
"As part of its mission to communicate and share its collections, the MassachusettsHistorical Society makes selected manuscripts and artifacts available foronline viewing. Use this guide to begin exploring ... digital archives, onlinecurriculum, and web exhibitions." This site includes electronic archivesof the Adams and Jefferson papers.

Missouri: Images from the Past--Teaching with Documents
"Created by the legislature in 1965, the State Archives serves as the repository for state records of permanent historical value. Its holdings date from 1770 and include: executive, legislative, and judicial records; records of state departments and agencies; land records; military records; state publications; photographic collections; county and municipal records on microfilm; and manuscript and reference collections.Currently, the Archives holds more than 336 million pages of paper; 400,000 photographs; 9,000 maps; 61,000 reels of microfilm, 560 cubic feet of published state documents and 1,000 audio/video items.."

National Security Archive
"An independent non-governmental research institute and library located at The George Washington University, the Archive collects and publishes declassified documents obtained through the Freedom of Information Act. The Archive also serves as a repository of government records on a wide range of topics pertaining to the national security, foreign, intelligence, and economic policies of the United States."

New York Public Library Digital Gallery
"NYPL Digital Gallery provides access to over 600,000 images digitized from primary sources and printed rarities in the collections of The New York Public Library, including illuminated manuscripts, historical maps, vintage posters, rare prints and photographs, illustrated books, printed ephemera, and more."

Non-fiction.Bartleby.com
Presidential inaugural addresses, autobiographies's, first-hand accounts describing events and society at specific time periods, presidential debates, and pamphlets are available at this site.

Office of the Historian: United States Department of State
"The Office of the Historian is responsible, under law, for the preparation and publication of the official historical documentary record of U.S. foreign policy in the Foreign Relations of the United States series." This government site includes several primary sources (and links to others) that document United States history.

Papers of George Washington
This site at the University of Virginia contains links to electronic reproductions of selections from George Washington's papers, online exhibits, and articles about Washington's papers.

The Plymouth Colony Archive Project at the University of Virginia
This site "presents a collection of fully searchable texts, including: court records, colony laws, seventeenth century journals and memoirs, probate inventories, wills, town plans, maps, and fort plans; research and seminar analyses of numerous topics; biographical profiles of selected colonists; and architectural, archaeological and material culture studies."

Presidential Libraries
This list provides links to the ten presidential libraries, as well as to two materials library for former President Nixon and Clinton. Several of the libraries provide links to the full-text of some primary documents.

Rare Book, Manuscript and Special Collections Library
Digitized copies of religious materials, advertisements, photographs, sheet music, letters, and publications relating to women's history and ancient Egypt are available at this site.

Repositories of Primary Sources
This University of Idaho Library worldwide directory includes more than 5,250 locations where primary sources are available.

The Rutgers Oral History Archives
"The 'Rutgers Oral History Archives of World War II,' directed by Sandra Stewart Holyoak, is an enterprise to record the personal experiences of the men and women who served on the homefront and overseas. It is based on in-depth interviews of individuals who lived through World War II, beginning with an initial target group of Rutgers College alumni and Douglass College alumnae (formerly, New Jersey College for Women)."

Sallie Bingham Center for Women's History and Culture: Digital Collections
"The Sallie Bingham Center for Women's History and Culture in Duke University’s Special Collections Library acquires, preserves and makes available to a large population of researchers published and unpublished materials that reflect the public and private lives of women, past and present."

Thomas Jefferson
This Library of Congress Web site includes information chronicling Thomas Jefferson's life including digitized copies of some primary sources.

United States Holocaust Memorial Museum
This site provides an introduction to the museum in Washington, DC, suggestions for Holocaust educational programs, guidelines for teaching about the subject, links to archives and information on Holocaust organizations and historical sites. Some primary documents and photographs are included in online exhibits available at this site.

Universityof Hawai'i at Manoa Library: Digital & Digitized Collections
"The Digital Archive Collections at the University of Hawai'i at Manoa Library include historical and cultural material in digital form, made accessible via the World Wide Web... This page lists scanned material from Archives and Manuscript collections, the Asia Collection, art works from the Jean Charlot Collection, resources related to Hawai'i and Pacific culture and history and material from the Rare Collection.

University of Washington Digital Collections
"This site features materials such as photographs, maps, newspapers, posters, reports and other media from the University of Washington Libraries, University of Washington Faculty and Departments, and organizations that have participated in partner projects with the UW Libraries."

Valley of the Shadow
"The Valley Project details life in two American communities, one Northernand one Southern, from the time of John Brown's raid, through the era ofReconstruction. In this digital archive you may explore thousands of originalletters and diaries, newspapers and speeches, census and church records,left by men and women in Augusta County, Virginia, and Franklin County,Pennsylvania. Giving voice to hundreds of individual people, the ValleyProject tells forgotten stories of life during the era of the Civil War."

Victorian Women Writers Project (fiction, non-fiction, poetry, letters, short stories)
"The goal of the Victorian Women Writers Project is to produce highly accurate transcriptions of works by British women writers of the 19th century."

Virtual Jamestown
This site includes digital copies of primary sources relating to the history of Jamestown and Virginia.

Virtual Vietnam Archive
"The Virtual Vietnam Archive currently contains over 2.7 million pages of scanned materials. Types of material include documents, photographs, slides, negatives, oral histories, artifacts, moving images, sound recordings, maps, and collection finding aids. All non-copyrighted and digitized materials are available for users to download."

The Wars for Viet Nam: 1945-1975
Digitized copies of primary sources relating to the Vietnam Conflict are available via this site. Robert Brigham of Vassar College has developed this site for a senior seminar course.

Weekly Compilation of Presidential Documents
"The Weekly Compilation of Presidential Documents is published every Monday and is the official publication of presidential statements, messages, remarks, and other materials released by the White House Press Secretary. Published by the Office of the Federal Register (OFR), National Archives and Records Administration (NARA), the Weekly Compilation of Presidential Documents first began in 1965 and is available on GPO Access from 1993 forward."

Wisconsin Historical Society
This web site helps the people to connect to the past of wisconsin by providing them with images and stories. This site also provides links to other resources over web on wisconsin history.

Yale University Library Digital Collection
The digital collection of the Yale University Library provides with more than 300,000 images which can be searched and for individual collection access advanced search can be used, Visitors can also browse the collection by name, topic, medium and institution.

Last Update: 10 Jul 20:37 | Tagged with: history reviewed Web sites