History WWW Resources

WWW Resources - African American History

TIP: Press Ctrl/f and enter a part of a word or phrase in the Find what: box and click on Find Next to search for a topic on this page. For example, type histor to search for history, histories, historical.

African American History and Culture
This site is sponsored by the Smithsonian Museum and has links to many African American cultural sites, including inventors, musicians, artists, and aviators.

The African American Mosaic
This Library of Congress exhibit describes the black experience in the Western Hemisphere. The Credits page lists the staff for this site.

African American Odyssey: A Quest for Full Citizenship
An Exhibition Overview explains the resources included in this chronicle of the African American experience. This exhibition is part of the Library of Congress Web site. The Acknowledgments page lists the staff of this project.

African American Perspectives
This searchable database is located at the Library of Congress. Read an overview of the collection on the The Learning Page.

African-American Women: On-line Archival Collections
The Digital Scriptorium includes this collection of digitized documents. Read About the Digital Scriptorium for full credits to this resource.

African American World
This guide to African American history and culture is sponsored by PBS and lists programs that have been presented on PBS or NPR. There is a section for kids and suggestions of how to incorporate information into the classroom.

Africans in America: America's Journey Through Slavery
This site links to audio recordings of national public radio programs about African American History. The sponsors for this site are listed here.

The Atlantic Slave Trade and Slave Life in the Americas: A Visual Record
"The hundreds of images in this collection have been selected from a wide range of sources, most of them dating from the period of slavery. This collection is envisioned as a tool and a resource that can be used by teachers, researchers, students, and the general public -- in brief, anyone interested in the experiences of Africans who were enslaved and transported to the Americas and the lives of their descendants in the slave societies of the New World It must be emphasized that little effort is made to interpret the images and establish the historical authenticity or accuracy of what they display. To accomplish this would constitute a major and different research effort. Individual users of this collection must decide such issues for themselves."

The Black Population in the United States
Access United States Census Bureau information about African Americans from this page.

Classics on American Slavery
This site is a selection of scholarly works on slavery. It is a growing list with a goal of adding two documents from the public domain every two weeks.

The Gilder Lehrman Center for the Study of Slavery, Resistance, and Abolition: Related Links of Interest
This page includes links to a number of historical sources including narratives from slaves. Information describing the goals of the site is available on the About the Gilder Lehrman Center page.

Legal Information Institute
The mission of LII is "to carry out applied research on the use of digital information technology in the distribution of legal information, the delivery of legal education, and the practice of law." Explore United States and international legal publications by using the fill-in form at the bottom of this page to search for words such as slavery or civil rights. Read about the background of this site at The Legal Information Institute - A Quick Overview.

The Martin Luther King, Jr. Papers Project
Stanford University provides primary and secondary documents about Martin Luther King, Jr. and the civil rights movement. Read About the Project to learn more about this resource.

OOSHE Historical and Cultural Atlas Resource
Interactive maps developed as a cooperative Project at the University of Oregon help students study cultural and historical changes. Click American History and scroll down the page to view maps specifically related to slavery.

Our Shared History, African American Heritage
This National Park Service site provides information about the Underground Railroad and links to information about historic sites related to African American history.

Voices from the Days of Slavery: Former Slaves Tell Their Stories
"Voices from the Days of Slavery: Former Slaves Tell Their Stories provides the opportunity to listen to former slaves describe their lives. These interviews, conducted between 1932 and 1975, capture the recollections of twenty-three identifiable people born between 1823 and the early 1860s and known to have been former slaves. Several of the people interviewed were centenarians, the oldest being 130 at the time of the interview. The almost seven hours of recordings were made in nine Southern states and provide an important glimpse of what life was like for slaves and freedmen. The former slaves discuss how they felt about slavery, slaveholders, how slaves were coerced, their families, and, of course, freedom. It is important to keep in mind, however, that all of those interviewed spoke sixty or more years after the end of their enslavement, and it is their full lives, rather than their lives during slavery, that are reflected in their words. They have much to say about living as African Americans from the 1870s to the 1930s, and beyond. As part of their testimony, several of the ex-slaves sing songs, many of which were learned during the time of their enslavement." This collection is part of the American Memory section from the Library of Congress.

We Shall Overcome
This site provides an online tour of historic places related to the modern Civil Rights Movement. The Credits page lists the groups responsible for the creation of this site.

Who2
Look here for biographies of prominent blacks who might be celebrated during Black History Month.

Last Update: 10 Jul 20:37 | Tagged with: history reviewed Web sites