Music Research Guide

Dictionaries, Encyclopedias and Handbooks

Use these sources to define terms and concepts in music. It is often useful to consult encyclopedias or dictionaries at the beginning of a research project to obtain an overview of a concept, school of thought, or a particular musician or music personality's contributions to the field.

Encyclopedia of the Musical Theatre
Encyclopedia of the Musical Theatre provides information on many aspects of the musical theatre. Specific plays, writers, lyricists and composers are discussed, and definitions of terms and concepts relating to musical theatre are also included.

Garland Encyclopedia of World Music
The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music is a multivolume work devoted to the music of all the world's peoples. Each volume is devoted to a single region. Each volume is organized as follows - Part one is an introduction to the region, its culture and its musical forms as well as a survey of previous music scholarship; Part two covers major issues and processes that link the music of the region; Part three is a detailed account of individual music cultures within the region. Volumes on Africa, South America/Mexico/Central America/the Caribbean, Southeast Asia, and Australia and the Pacific Islands are currently available.

International Dictionary of Opera
This reference book contains information on composers, conductors, librettists and performers as well as producers, directors and designers. In-depth discussion of individual operas is also provided.

New American Dictionary of Music
New American Dictionary of Music includes entries for musical terms and concepts; composers and performers; and specific musical works. Cross references and a reference bibliography are also provided.

The New Grove Dictionary of American Music
This book provides definitions of musical terms and concepts and also includes information on composers, performers and individual works.

The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz
Information about individual jazz performers and composers, jazz groups and bands, concepts and terms, instruments, record companies and labels, and institutions is contained in two volumes.

The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians
The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians "attempts to discuss everything that can be reckoned to bear on music in history and on present-day musical life (as of 1980)." More than half the entries pertain to composers from ancient and mythological times to contemporary times. Other articles focus on scholars, writers on music, theorists and administrators. There are also articles on people in other arts who are important to music as well as articles on dancers, designers, and theatre producers whose contributions entitle them to be mentioned for their place in music history. The terminology of music is fully treated. And last, there is an article on the music of every recognized country at the time the dictionary was produced and overview articles for the music of broad geographic regions such as Africa, East Asia, Europe and Latin America.

The New Grove Dictionary of Musical Instruments
The New Grove Dictionary of Musical Instruments provides information on the instruments of classical and modern Western music, on nonwestern and folk instruments, on the makers of those instruments, and on the Western performance tradition.

The New Grove Dictionary of Opera
This work contains information concerning composers, performers and conductors as well as individual operas. Entries on specific operatic librettos and popular topics of operatic discussion are also included.

The Oxford Companion to Popular Music
The Oxford Companion to Popular Music includes alphabetical entries about people and groups, shows and films, and songs and albums.

The Oxford Dictionary of Music
This book provides extensive coverage of all aspects of music, including entries on composers, performers, specific musical works, musical concepts and musical instruments.

Biographical Information

Check the sources below for biographical articles on composers. For a more in-depth description on doing biographical research try the library catalog by subject or keyword. For instance to find biographical materials on Johann Sebastian Bach available in Owens Library, enter bach johann Sebastian and su biography as a keyword search in the library catalog.

Biographical Dictionary of Russian/Soviet Composers
This dictionary provides biographical information on more than 2,000 Russian/Soviet composers. Bibliographical information as well as discographies and lists of major works are also included.

Contemporary Composers
Contemporary Composers includes entries for 500 composers from around the world. Entries include biographical information, a list of works and critical analysis.

The Harvard Biographical Dictionary of Music
This book focuses primarily on "the history of concert music in the Western tradition." Biographical and bibliographic information for hundreds of composers and performers is included.

International Encyclopedia of Women Composers
Biographical and bibliographic information for hundreds of female composers is included. Entries also contain information on compositions and publications, and a comprehensive discography for each composer.

The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians
The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians "attempts to discuss everything that can be reckoned to bear on music in history and on present-day musical life (as of 1980)." More than half the entries pertain to composers from ancient and mythological times to contemporary times. Other articles focus on scholars, writers on music, theorists and administrators. There are also articles on people in other arts who are important to music as well as articles on dancers, designers, and theatre producers whose contributions entitle them to be mentioned for their place in music history. The terminology of music is fully treated. And last, there is an article on the music of every recognized country at the time the dictionary was produced and overview article for the music of broad geographic regions such as Africa, East Asia, Europe and Latin America.

Music History and Criticism

Baroque Music
This book deals primarily with the composition of Baroque music. Sections on Baroque style, the sacred concerto, lute and keyboard music and French and Italian opera are included.

Folk and Traditional Music of the Western ContinentsSections on the cultural setting and structure of folk and traditional music are included. Information on Germanic, Eastern European, French, Italian, African, American Indian and African-American music is presented.

History of Music
History of Music contains information about ancient and primitive music; music from Medieval Europe and the Renaissance; and music from the seventeenth through the twentieth centuries.

A History of Western Music
An historical account of music from the end of the ancient world through the twentieth century. Topics include Gregorian Chant and secular music; Medieval and Renaissance music; Baroque style; Romanticism; and Neoclassicism. A bibliography, chronology and glossary are also provided.

Music in the Classic Period
This book provides information about the meanings of classicism; Baroque and rococo styles; and the transition from classicism to romanticism. Musical categories such as the symphony, the sonata, the concerto, chamber music and opera are discussed in light of the classical style.

Music in the Renaissance
Music in the Renaissance provides information on many Renaissance composers, including Dunstable, Binchois, Josquin Des Prez and Palestrina. Chapters on national styles and instrumental music are also included.

The New Grove Dictionary of American Music
This book provides definitions of musical terms and concepts and also includes information on composers, performers and individual works.

The New Oxford History of Music
This series includes the volumes Ancient and Oriental Music; Early Medieval Music up to 1300; Ars Nova and the Renaissance; The Age of Humanism; Opera and Church Music; The Growth of Instrumental Music; The Age of the Enlightenment; The Age of Beethoven; Romanticism; and The Modern Age.

Nineteenth-Century Romanticism in Music
Included here are sections on defining Romanticism, Romantic musical styles and form; German, French and Italian musical Romanticism; and nineteenth-century nationalism in music. Biographical chapters on Beethoven and his contemporaries are also provided.

Concise Oxford History of Music
This volume covers the history of Western music as it grown and developed from Western Asia and the Eastern Mediterranean lands. Chapters

Schirmer History of Music
This book, a comprehensive guide to primarily Western music and includes sections on the Middle Ages; the Baroque Era; the Preclassic to Classic Era; the Romantic and Post-Romantic Eras; the Twentieth Century; and the New World.

Twentieth-Century Music: An Introduction
Focusing primarily on twentieth-century Western music, this book provides information concerning traditional tonality; new tonalities; atonality and twelve-tone music; and the avant-garde.

Music Research

A Guide to Research in Music Education
This book deals with issues such as identifying the research problem; writing a research proposal; and learning research methodology. There are also discussions on techniques for doing qualitative, experimental and historical research as well as for quantifying research data.

Music Reference and Research Materials: An Annotated Bibliography (Duckles)
This reference work is designed to fulfill the requirements of upper level and graduate students who need to become acquainted with the resources of music research. It is organized to allow students to progress toward mastery of the literature in a chosen field of specialization within the larger dimensions of the field of music. Chapters in this book focus on using and evaluating the following types of research materials - dictionaries and encyclopedias, histories and chronologies, guides to musicology, bibliographies of music literature, bibliographies of music, reference works on individual composers and their music, catalogs of music libraries and collections, catalogs of musical instrument collections, histories and bibliographies of music printing and publishing, and discographies and related sources. There is also a chapter on electronic information resources.

Last Update: 17 Jul 20:08