Visual Arts Research Guide

Books in Academic Libraries

Library Catalog
Search the library catalog for books located in Owens Library or in over 50 MOBIUS Missouri academic libraries.

  • Click Art to access books and other materials related to visual arts in the Owens Library catalog
  • Click Related Subjects (LC) to access a list of over 70 subject headings related to visual arts in the Owens Library catalog
  • Click Art Sources to view a list of visual arts books in Owens Library selected by Owens Librarians
  • Click Drawings to find out how to access books with master drawings and figure drawings  
  1. When searching in the Owens Library catalog, use the Search MOBIUS button to conduct the same search in the entire MOBIUS catalog (the holdings of over 50 Missouri academic libraries) and retrieve more results.
  2. If a book you find in Owens Library is DUE that means is it checked out to someone else. If you want that book, click the Search MOBIUS button to see if you can find it in the MOBIUS catalog. If it is in the MOBIUS catalog, use the REQUEST THIS ITEM link to have the book delivered to Owens Library for check out.
  3. When your MOBIUS catalog results list return books not available in the Owens Library, use the REQUEST THIS ITEM link to have books in the MOBIUS catalog delivered to Owens Library.
    Note:
    Northwest is part of the TOWERS cluster

eBooks
Search Owens Library's eBook collection that includes titles on art history, graphic design, architectures, and art pedagogy.

WorldCat
The WorldCat advanced search includes limiting by format, e.g., archival material. Also, WorldCat helps you broaden your research beyond the collections of Owens Library and other academic libraries in Missouri (MOBIUS). Order books not available in the Owens Library or MOBIUS collections via Interlibrary Loan.

Google Book Search

Search the full text of a huge database of millions of book titles and view your keywords in context in the the book text. View the book table of contents and index for most books indexed. Use the library catalog or the MOBIUS catalog to get the full text of many titles you find. Use interlibrary loan to borrow the books not available in the library catalog or MOBIUS.

Last Update: 17 Jul 20:38