FCS Periodical Literature List
PROFESSIONAL LITERATURE LIST
(use of one bolded journal title is required for course project)
Advancing the Consumer Interest
Child & Family Social Work
Child & Youth Care Forum
Clothing and Textiles Research Journal
Cornell Hotel & Restaurant Admin. Quarterly
Daily News Record
Families in Society
Family & Consumer Sciences Research Journal
(formerly Home Economics Research Journal)
Family Economics & Nutrition Review
HFN: The Weekly Newspaper for the
Home Furnishing Network
Hotel & Motel Management
Human Ecology: an Interdisciplinary Journal
Human Ecology Forum
Intl. Journal of Food Sciences & Nutrition
Journal of Aging Studies
Journal of Applied Gerontology
Journal of Comparative Family Studies
Journal of Consumer Affairs
Journal of Consumer Education
Journal of Consumer Marketing
Journal of Consumer Research
Journal of Economic Psychology
Journal of Economic and Social Research
Journal of Family & Consumer Sciences
(formerly Journal of Home Economics)
Journal of Family Issues
Journal of Marketing
Journal of Marketing Research
Journal of Marriage & the Family
Journal of Nutrition
Journal of Nutrition Education
Journal of the American Dietetic Association
Journal of Research in Childhood Education
Journals of Gerontology
Kappa Omicron Nu Forum
Research on Aging
Tufts University Health & Nutrition Letter
WWD (Women's Wear Daily)
Youth & Society
Ask a Librarian
Get to know the librarians! You can email, phone, or ask for them at the front Library Services Desk.
Family & Consumer Science Databases
Academic Search Complete is a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary database
Click to view more"with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc."
Hide this content.
Education Research Complete
"Includes all levels of education from early childhood to higher education, and educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education, and testing. Education Research Complete also covers areas of curriculum instruction as well as administration, policy, funding, and related social issues. The database provides indexing and abstracts for nearly 2,400 journals, as well as full text for over 1,400 journals. This database also includes full text for more than 550 books and monographs, and full text for numerous education-related conference papers."
Education Full Text (H.W. Wilson)
This full-text source of education scholarship provides coverage for a wide range of topics,including adult education, continuing education, literacy standards, multicultural/ethnic education, secondary education, teaching methods and much more.
In addition, Education Full Text provides in-depth coverage of special education, with over 50 journals dedicated to this important topic.
- Full text of articles from over 350 journals as far back as 1996
- Indexing of over 770 periodicals dating back to 1983
- More than 100,000 controlled and cross-referenced names of educational tests
Business Source Premier
The most popular business research database, features full text for more than 2,100 journals.
Click to view moreFull text is provided back to 1965, and searchable cited references back to 1998. Journal ranking studies reveal that Business Source Premier's full-text coverage outshines its competitors in all business disciplines, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. Additional full text, non-journal content includes market research reports, industry reports, country reports, company profiles and SWOT analyses. Regional Business News™ is a supplemental database for customers of Business Source Premier, provided at no additional charge. With daily updates, Regional Business News provides comprehensive full text for regional U.S. and Canadian business publications (including titles from Crain Communications). Regional Business News has full text for nearly 100 sources.
Hide this content.
"SAGE Premier is the delivery platform that provides online access to the full text of individual SAGE journals in Business, Humanities, Social Sciences, Science, Technology, and Medicine"
ScienceDirect Social & Behavioral Sciences College Edit
ScienceDirect Social & Behavioral Sciences includes over 130,000 full-text articles from 350 journals.
"Access over 10,000 news, business, and legal sources. The outstanding news coverage includes deep backfiles and up-to-the-minute stories in national and regional newspapers, wire services, broadcast transcripts, international news, and non-English language sources. Use the included Company Dossier module to retrieve detailed company information and financial performance measures or identify and compare companies matching specific criteria. This product also provides access to the renowned Shepard's Citations® service for all federal and states court cases back to 1789."
Indexes and abstracts over 2,500 psychology and psychology-related journals,
Click to view moreincluding professional and academic literature in psychology, medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, law and others.
Hide this content.
Coverage Dates: 1887 - present
PsycARTICLES®, from the APA, is a definitive source of full-text,
Click to view morepeer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology. The database contains more than 161,000 articles from 81 journals published by the APA, its imprint the Educational Publishing Foundation (EPF), and from allied organizations including the Canadian Psychological Association and the Hogrefe Publishing Group. It includes all journal articles, book reviews, letters to the editor, and errata from each journal.
Hide this content.
The Education Resource Information Center provides access to education literature and resources. The database provides access to information from journals included in the Current Index of Journals in Education and Resources in Education Index.
ERIC contains more than 1.3 million records and links to more than 323,000 full-text documents from ERIC back to 1966. EBSCOhost provides an online thesaurus of descriptor terms under Subject Search.