Philosophy Research Guide

Philosophers and Philosophy

TIP: Press Ctrl/f and enter a root word, word, or phrase in the Find what: box and click on Find Next to search for a topic on this page. For example, type philosophy to search for philosophy, philosophical, philosophers.

Note: The sources listed below are available in Owens Library. Background information provided in these reference sources make them excellent beginning points for research. Publication years are listed to help the user determine the perspective of the editors or authors of the work. Many of these works include bibliographies that provide citations to books and articles about subjects.

Biographical Dictionary of Twentieth-Century Philosophers
Twentieth-Century philosophers are described in this one-volume work. Each entry includes bibliographies of the philosopher's main publications and secondary works that discuss the philosopher. The volume includes bibliographical references and an index.

The Cambridge Dictionary of Philosophy
Major philosophers, significant thinkers and philosophical terms are described and defined in this one-volume work.

Encyclopedia of Classical Philosophy
This volume describes classical philosophers and philosophy. It includes bibliographical references and an index.

Encyclopedia of Ethics
"Ranging from philosophical and theoretical ethics to applied ethics, Encyclopedia of Ethics covers people, events, terms, ideas, works, and movements from a global perspective. This one-volume, A-to-Z reference source for students and general readers provides the working vocabulary needed to tackle the ideas of ethical thinking - especially the contemporary issue of developing a moral compass to make informed personal decisions. The encyclopedia includes entries on philosophy (character, justice, self-realization); morality (Jewish ethics, moral development, Shari'a); practical issues (medical ethics, sexual ethics, business ethics); and leading thinkers of all the world's ethical traditions (Confucius, Hildegard of Bingen, John Stuart Mill)." "Extensively cross-referenced to allow for a deeper and more thorough understanding of each topic, Encyclopedia of Ethics is filled with real-world examples that make the concepts instantly relevant to today's readers."--BOOK JACKET.

The Encyclopedia of Philosophy
This multi-volume set incorporates entries describing philosophers and philosophies through the ages. Bibliographies are available at the end of most entries.

Encyclopedia of Religion
This fifteen-volume set offers comprehensive, worldwide coverage of religion with the topics arranged in alphabetical order. A number of philosophers are covered in this work. Each entry includes a bibliography.

Encyclopedia of the Enlightenment
This volume presents information about those (including philosophers) who shaped the transformation of belief that began during the Enlightenment. It includes bibliographical references and an index.

The Encyclopedia of Unbelief
This two-volume set includes information about those who did not or do not believe in a religion. Unpopular works and opinions of some well-known philosophers are explored. According to the volumes' introduction, histories of "heresy, blasphemy, rejection of belief, atheism, agnosticism, humanism and rationalism" are included.

A History of Chinese Philosophy
This two volume set is a translation from the original Chinese. "The first volume covers what is perhaps the most brilliant period of Chinese philosophy, extending from its earliest beginnings down to about 100 B.C., when Confucianism became the orthodox." The second volume covers "..the period of classical learning..." spanning from the second century B.C. to the 20th century A.D.

Man, Myth and Magic
This twelve-volume set is a comprehensive guide to the world's religions, mythologies and magical belief systems from the distant past to the present day. Included in the set are the major faiths, philosophies, legends, mythologies, as well as literature, symbolism, superstition and the supernatural. Man, Myth and Magic also looks forward to the future with discussions of UFOs (Unidentified Flying Objects), parapsychology and psychic abilities.

New Encyclopedia of Philosophy
Brief entries describing philosophers, as well as philosophical ideas and terminology, are included in this work.

The Oxford Companion to Philosophy
Philosophers, philosophies and philosophical terminology are defined in the reference work. Most entries include a brief bibliography.

The Oxford Dictionary of Philosophy
This volume is characterized by brief entries explaining philosophical terms in lay man's language.

Research Guide to Philosophy
Major changes in philosophy and the history of philosophy since the late nineteenth century are described in this one volume work. Entries in the volume are organized by time periods with major philosophers/philosophies discussed for each epoch. Bibliographies complement most entries.

All quoted material is from the respective source.

Last Update: 03 Aug 16:40 | Tagged with: Philosophy