Law Research Guide

Court Cases: Find a Court Case

LexisNexis Academic US Legal
Locate US Supreme Court opinions, federal court cases, state high court and appellate decisions, cases by topic.

Google Scholar Legal Documents
Obtain federal and state court opinions using Google Scholar, click Legal documents.
Google Scholar Legal

Supreme Court of the United States
Search for decision from 1991 to the Present.

Oyez Project
"The Oyez Project at Chicago-Kent is a multimedia archive devoted to the Supreme Court of the United States and its work. It aims to be a complete and authoritative source for all audio recorded in the Court since the installation of a recording system in October 1955. The Project also provides authoritative information on all justices and offers a virtual reality Tour of portions of the Supreme Court building, including the chambers of some of the justices."

State Court Web Sites
"This page provides judicial branch links for each state, focusing on the administrative office of the courts, the court of last resort, any intermediate appellate courts, and each trial court level."

State Courts by Jurisdiction
Legal Information Institute (LII) is a not-for-profit organization that believes everyone should be able to read and understand the laws that govern them, without cost.

Findlaw Court Opinion Summaries
"FindLaw archives its summaries of published opinions issued since September 2000 by the U.S. Supreme Court, all thirteen U.S. Circuit Courts of Appeals, and select state supreme and appellate courts."

Findlaw U.S. Supreme Court Opinions
FindLaw's searchable database of the Supreme Court decisions since 1893 (U.S. Supreme Court Decisions: US Reports 150-, 1893-). Browsable by year and US Reports volume number and searchable by citation, case title and full text.

Browsing

Citation Search

    U.S. e.g. 410 U.S. 113

Title Search

    e.g. Roe v. Wade

Full-Text Search


Last Update: 31 May 18:51 | Tagged with: court cases