Literature Research Guide

Selected World Wide Web Resources

6. Selected World Wide Web Resources:

TIP: Press Ctrl/f and enter a root word, word, or phrase in the Find what: box and click on Find Next to search for a topic on this page. For example, type biograph to search for biography, biographical.


Information About Specific Authors

A&E Biography Search
Biography seekers can type in the author's last name first name (example: Milton John) to locate brief biographical entries on the A&E Television Networks Biography Page.

Authors from Yahoo!
The Arts/Humanities/Literature section of Yahoo! offers a list of author sites on the Web.

BBC Audio Interviews: Writers
Follow this links to listen to writer interviews that have been broadcast by the BBC. Chinua Achebe, Kingsley Amis, Martin Amis, Maya Angelou, Margaret Atwood, Beryl Bainbridge, Enid Blyton, William Burroughs, Agatha Christie, Arthur C. Clarke, Roald Dahl, Cecil Day Lewis, Roddy Doyle, Martha Gellhorn, Nadine Gordimer, Robert Graves, Graham Greene, Robert Graves, Joseph Heller, Laurie Lee, Doris Lessing, Ian McEwing, Iris Murdoch, Vladimir Nabokov, Michael Ondaatje, Harold Pinter, Phillip Roth, Salman Rushdie, Vikram Seth, George Bernard Shaw, Susan Sontag, William Styron, Alice Walker, Evelyn Waugh, Virginia Woolf, and Walter de la Mare are among those interviewed.

Cervantes Project
This site inlcudes electronic editions of Cervantes' works, as well as a digital archives of images related to Cervantes.

Dreiser WebSource
This site, from the University of Pennsylvania, includes reference works, critical essays, correspondence, and biographical information about Theodore Dreiser.

The Edith Wharton Society
The full-text of selected works by Wharton, bibliographies of criticisms, discussion questions, biographical information, and more are linked at this site.

Geoffrey Chaucer
"This site provides. . . . a wide range of glossed Middle English texts and translations of analogues relevant to Chaucer's works, as well as selections from relevant works by earlier and later writers, critical articles from a variety of perspectives, graphics, and general information on life in the Middle Ages. At the moment the site concentrates on the Canterbury Tales, but the longer-term goal is to create a more general Chaucer page."

Henry James Scholar's Guide to Web Sites
This site includes links to the full text of works by and about Henry James.

The Life and Works of Herman Melville
The full text of a number of Melville's works, as well as biographical and critical information are available at this site. .

Playwrights from Yahoo!
The Arts/Humanities/Drama section of Yahoo! offers a list of sites with biographical information about numerous playwrights.

Poet at Work: Recovered Notebooks From the Thomas Biggs Harned Walt Whitman Collection
"The Thomas B. Harned collection of the Walt Whitman papers spans the period 1842 to 1937, with most of the items dated from 1855 to 1892. It was donated in 1918. The collection consists of correspondence, poetry and prose manuscripts, notes and notebooks, proofs and offprints, printed matter, and miscellaneous items, laminated and boxed in seven containers, and supplemented by one manuscript box of ancillary material." "This collection offers access to the four Walt Whitman Notebooks and a cardboard butterfly that disappeared from the Library of Congress in 1942. They were returned on February 24, 1995."

Powell's Books: Author Interviews
This publisher Web site includes interviews with Martin Amis, Roger Angell, Marty Asher, Nicholson Baker, John Balzar, Charles Baxter, John Berendt, Bob Blumer, Judy Blunt, Anthony Bourdain, T. C. Boyle, David Brancaccio, Ann Brashares, Susie Bright, Po Bronson, Bill Bryson, James Lee Burke, Robert Olen Butler, Peter Carey, Stephen L. Carter, Michael Chabon, Deepak Chopra, Mary Higgins Clark, Billy Collins, Michael Connelly, Jill Ker Conway, Mark Costello, Jim Crace, Christopher Paul Curtis, Regan Daley, Meghan Daum, Pete Dexter, Bryan Di Salvatore, Roddy Doyle, Gretel Ehrlich, Jeffrey Eugenides, Michel Faber, Helen Fielding, Richard Ford, Jonathan Franzen, Ian Frazier, Elizabeth Gilbert, James Gleick, Molly Gloss, Allegra Goodman, Stephen Jay Gould, Mark Haddon, David Halberstam, Ethan Hawke, Mariel Hemingway, A. M. Homes, Tony Horwitz, Pico Iyer, Joe Jackson, Gish Jen, Ha Jin, Heidi Julavits, Norton Juster, Thomas Keller, Haven Kimmel, Maxine Hong Kingston, Anne Lamott, Erik Larson, William Least Heat-Moon, Dennis Lehane, Annie Leibovitz, Jonathan Lethem, David Lipsky, Gregory Maguire, Tucker Malarkey, Ben Marcus, Greil Marcus, Jeffrey Masson, James McBride, Alice McDermott, David Means, Anchee Min, Susan Minot, Rick Moody, Bharati Mukherjee, Michael Ondaatje, Susan Orlean, Julie Orringer, Ruth Ozeki, Chuck Palahniuk, Michael Palin, Christopher Paolini, Ann Patchett, Jacques Pépin, Tamora Pierce, DBC Pierre, Tim Powers, Philip Pullman, Jonathan Raban, David Rakoff, Ruth Reichl, Rita Rudner, Salman Rushdie, Richard Russo, Eric Schlosser, Alice Sebold, Jeff Shaara, David Skover, Jane Smiley, Manil Suri, Sarah Susanka, Anthony Swofford, Paul Theroux, Calvin Trillin, Zoe Trope, Vendela Vida, Alice Waters, Irvine Welsh, Colson Whitehead, and Simon Winchester.

The Academy of American Poets: poets.org
"Visitors to the award-winning website of The Academy of American Poets can find essays on poetry, biographies of more than 450 poets, text of more than 1400 poems, and RealAudio of one hundred poems read by their authors or other poets; learn all about the Academy and its programs; discuss poetry and share their own work with fellow web travelers; find local poetry resources on the National Poetry Map and calendar; and much more."

Ralph Waldo Emerson (1803-1882)
This site includes links to the full text of works written by Emerson and analyses of Emerson's writings.

The Swineburne Project
"The goal of the Swinburne Project is to produce highly accurate transcriptions of the works of Algernon Charles Swinburne."

Hemingway Society
"Virtual Hemingway is intended to provide persons interested in the author with links to scholarship and other information about Hemingway on-line as well as to selected manifestations of Hemingway's appearances in popular culture."

The William Dean Howells Society
Works by and about William Dean Howells are available at this site. There are also a number of critical analyses of his work included here.


Comprehensive Literary Sites

Literary Resources on the Net
Literary Resources on the Net provides a comprehensive selection of Internet literary resources, created and maintained by Jack Lynch. Resource categories cover the following subject areas, periods or literature's: American; Bibliography & History of the Book; Classical & Biblical; Eighteenth-Century; Ethnicity & Nationalities; Hypertext, Medieval, Other National Literature; Renaissance; Romantic; Theatre and Drama; Theory; Twentieth-Century British and Irish; Victorian British; and Women's Literature & Feminism.

WWW Resources for English and American Literature
This page provides links to numerous literary sites on the Internet selected by Kate Quarles, the subject librarian for English and American Literature at Indiana University. The content of the page includes: 18th Century American Literature; 19th Century American Literature; 20th Century American Literature; 18th Century British Literature; 19th Century British Romanticism and Regency Period; 19th Century British Victorian Studies; 20th Century British Literature; Anglo-Saxon & Medieval Literature; Creative Writing; Electronic Text Centers; General Online Library Resources; General WWW Literary Studies; Other literature in English; and Renaissance & Early Modern Literature.


Literary Criticism and Theory

Literary Resources -- Theory
This is a subpage of Literary Resources on the Net, created and maintained by Jack Lynch, assistant professor in the English department at Rutgers University. The Theory subpage supplies links to literary theory resources.

Voice of the Shuttle: Literary Theory Page
Part of English Professor Alan Liu's Web Site for Humanities Research, this site provides access to Literary Theory sites on the Web.


Reference Works

Interplay: An On-line Index to Plays in Collections, Anthologies and Periodicals
This site, developed by Portland State University's Humanities librarians, provides information on how to find more than 18,000 printed plays which may not be included in standard play indexes. The database can be searched by author and/or title.

Voice of the Shuttle: Reference Page
The Shuttle's Reference page includes access to many online reference collections, as well as links to dictionaries, thesauri, quotation resources, scholarly reference resources, and style and grammar guides.

SparkNotes
SparkNotes is an online form of "cliff notes", covering topics from Shakespeare, poetry, literature, drama and Philosophy. The site also includes key facts, quotations, quizzes, study questions, characters, character analysis, themes, etc. on other subjects, such as Mathematics, Chemistry, Physics, Psychology, Biology, Astronomy, and Computer Science. Also included are Reference tools, message boards, current events and classic books online. The site is free, but requires users to establish an account and to log in.


Resources by Genre/Author

Authors from Yahoo!
Yahoo! offers a broad list of links to sites about specific authors, organized by genre.

English Literature by Genre
This site provides resources for drama, fiction and poetry studies.

Voice of the Shuttle: Minority Studies
This page offers links to information about African-American, Asian-American, Chicano/Latino, Jewish, Native American and Pacific literatures.


Resources by Period

Online Literary Criticism Collection
The Internet Public Library Online Literary Criticism Collection "contains 4745 critical and biographical websites about authors and their works that can be browsed by author, by title, or by nationality and literary period". .

Voice of the Shuttle: English Literature
This site provides access to English Literature web sites by period.  


Writing Resources

Paradigm Online Writing Assistant
The Writing Assistant includes information on discovering what to write, as well as how to write informal, exploratory, and argumentative essays. It also provides instruction on organizing, editing and revising writing.

University of Purdue Online Writing Lab
The University of Purdue OWL offers over 200 handouts about writing covering a variety of topics including writing anxiety, writing style, editing, etc.


Research Assistance

Help with Research
Northwest students can receive personalized assistance in researching a specific topic.

Research QuickStudy
The University Libraries at the University of Minnesota provide a clear research guide with information about how to choose a research topic, formulate a research strategy, conduct an electronic search using keywords, locate information on the Internet, and citing information sources.

Last Update: 03 Aug 20:33